The European Health Insurance Card: EHIC

fr en

The European Health Insurance Card covers the holder for health care that becomes medically necessary during a temporary stay (vacation, business trips, etc.) in another European Union member State, Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland, or Switzerland.

What is the EHIC?

The European health insurance card was created on June 1st, 2004. It is used during a temporary stay in a member State other than the member State of insurance, whatever the purpose of the stay (business or non-business) or the cardholder's status (employed, retired, unemployed, student, etc.).

The card has the same appearance and technical features across all issuing member States in order to be immediately recognizable.

The EHIC is personal, made out in the holder's name and free of charge. Each separate member of a family traveling must have his/her own card, including children under the age of 16. Cards issued by France are valid for 2 years (the card's length of validity varies by issuing State).

If the card cannot be issued prior to your departure (late application) you will be issued a provisional replacement certificate. It is valid for three months.

What is the EHIC used for?

The EHIC guarantees direct access to the public health system in the country you are visiting, with no need for prior application to the local health authority. When you show your EHIC, you will receive the same health services as if you were insured in the country you are visiting.

With the EHIC, you will receive health care benefits-in-kind pursuant to the legislation of the country that you are visiting. The card entitles you to medically necessary care, which means that you will not have to return to your State of habitual residence early in order to receive the necessary treatment.

The EHIC also covers chronic or pre-existing conditions as well as pregnancy and childbirth, if the purpose of the trip to another country is not to receive care.

Indeed, the EHIC is not valid if you are traveling for the purpose of receiving healthcare. That would be what is commonly known as "scheduled" care. It is not a substitute for private travel insurance (rescue, repatriation).

If you did not apply for reimbursement of your medical expenses during your trip abroad, you can submit your bills and proof of payment to local health fund once you return to France.

As a matter of course, always show your EHIC or your provisional replacement certificate to any healthcare providers you see during your trip abroad.

As fron December 1st, 2015, you can use the Ameli mobile app to apply for an EHIC and view an image of your card once it has been issued.

Who is eligible?

These provisions are applicable if you are a citizen:

Where do I apply for an EHIC?

You must apply for an EHIC from your local health insurance fund.

Please note that the Cleiss does not issue the EHIC.

Is the EHIC valid worldwide?

No, the EHIC can only be used in countries applying European regulations: these are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Slovakia, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

For more information

Espace particuliers

La Carte Européenne d'Assurance Maladie (CEAM)

fr en

La Carte Européenne d'Assurance Maladie permet à son détenteur de bénéficier d'une prise en charge pour les soins de santé médicalement nécessaires survenus à l'occasion de séjours temporaires (vacances, séjour professionnel ou séjours linguistiques par exemple) sur le territoire d'un autre Etat membre de l'Union européenne, en Norvège, au Liechtenstein, en Islande ou en Suisse.

Qu'est-ce que la CEAM ?

La carte européenne d'assurance maladie existe depuis le 1er juin 2004. Elle est utilisée en cas de séjour temporaire sur le territoire d'un État autre que l'État compétent, quelle que soit la nature du séjour (professionnel ou non professionnel) ou la qualité du titulaire de la carte (travailleur, pensionné, chômeur, étudiant, etc.).

Le modèle de la carte est identique et présente les mêmes caractéristiques techniques dans chaque État membre afin de permettre une reconnaissance immédiate.

La CEAM est individuelle, nominative et gratuite. Chaque personne de la famille doit avoir sa propre carte.

Les cartes délivrée par la France sont valables 2 ans* à compter du 1er juillet 2014. Les cartes émises avant cette date conservent la durée de validité d'un an.

* La durée de validité de la carte varie en fonction de l'Etat qui l'émet.

Si la carte ne peut pas être délivrée avant votre départ (car demandée trop tardivement), un certificat provisoire de remplacement valable 3 mois vous sera remis.

A quoi sert la CEAM ?

La CEAM garantit un accès direct au système de santé public dans le pays de séjour, sans démarche préalable auprès de l'institution locale. Les prestations sont servies sur présentation de la CEAM dans les mêmes conditions que les assurés du pays de séjour.

La CEAM vous permet de bénéficier de prestations en nature de l'assurance maladie servies selon les modalités du pays où vous séjournez. Avec ce document, vous pouvez prétendre aux prestations pour des soins médicalement nécessaires pendant votre séjour. Vous n'êtes donc pas contraint de rejoindre, avant la fin prévue de votre séjour, votre Etat de résidence habituel pour y recevoir le traitement nécessaire.

La CEAM couvre également les maladies chroniques ou préexistantes ainsi que la grossesse et l'accouchement, si le but du séjour à l'étranger n'est pas de bénéficier de soins.

En effet, la CEAM n'est pas valable si vous partez dans le but de vous faire soigner. Il s'agirait là de soins communément qualifiés de «programmés». Elle ne se substitue pas à une assurance voyage privée (sauvetage, rapatriement).

Si vous n'avez pas demandé le remboursement de vos frais médicaux lors de votre séjour, vous pouvez présenter les factures et les justificatifs de paiement à votre caisse d'affiliation à votre retour en France.

Qui est concerné ?

Ces dispositions sont applicables si vous êtes ressortissant :

  • d'un Etat de l'Union Européenne ;
  • ou de la Norvège, de l'Islande, du Liechtenstein ou de la Suisse ;
  • ou d'un autre Etat (dans ce dernier cas, ces dispositions ne sont pas applicables pour un séjour au Danemark, en Norvège, en Islande, au Liechtenstein ou en Suisse).

Où s'adresser pour obtenir la CEAM ?

La CEAM doit être demandée auprès de la caisse dont vous relevez pour l'assurance maladie :

Notez bien que le Cleiss ne délivre pas la CEAM.

La CEAM est-elle valable partout dans le monde ?

Non, la CEAM ne peut être utilisée que dans le champ d'application des règlements européens, c'est-à dire dans les Etats suivants : Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Chypre, Croatie, Danemark, Espagne, Estonie, Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Islande, Italie, Lettonie, Liechtenstein, Lituanie, Luxembourg, Malte, Norvège, Pays Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République Slovaque, République Tchèque, Roumanie, Royaume-Uni, Slovénie, Suède et Suisse

Etudes

  • Décryptage n°13 : Emission et utilisation de la CEAM
  • Décryptage n°4 : La CEAM en France et en Europe