Cross-border health and social care cooperation agreements

fr en

Thes agreements are designed to benefit patients in a concrete and direct manner by allowing them to take advantage of high-quality care as close as possible to where they live, as the nearest hospital may be located across a country border.

I. Background

In addition to the mechanisms provided by European regulations (EC) 883/2004 and (EC) 987/2009 and by Directive 2011/24 (EU) on cross-border healthcare, French domestic law as from 2005 on the coverage of care received outside of France has fully incorporated EU legal precedent on the free provision of services and the free movement of goods with regard to healthcare (decree 2005-386 of April, 19, 2015)

As a result, the French Social Security code (article R 160-3) allows for cross-border agreements to be concluded between France’s social security institutions and certain health or socialcare facilities located in another European Union member State or party to the agreement on the European Economic Area or Switzerland, upon authorization from the competent authorities or the regional health agency (“agence régionale de santé”/ ARS).

These agreements set forth the terms of admission to these facilities for patients entitled to coverage of their healthcare expenses, or their beneficiaries pursuant to European regulations, assuming they cannot receive appropriate care for their condition in France, as well as the rules for reimbursement of the care provided.

When these regulations apply, individuals entitled to coverage of their healthcare expenses, as well as their beneficiaries pursuant to European regulations, are not required to get prior authorization for hospital-based care.

II. Framework agreements

In order to organize and standardize this type of agreement, France’s competent authorities have decided to conclude framework agreements with their European equivalents.

Indeed, so long as medical care remains a domestic competence for each individual member State, bilateral agreements in this area will remain essential in order to eliminate obstacles to the free movement of patients and health care professionals.

The main provisions of these framework agreements are designed to:

The framework agreements signed by France

* Two framework agreements have been signed with Switzerland (September 27, 2016) and Luxembourg (November 21, 2016). A bill authorizing the approval of these two framework agreements on cross-border healthcare cooperation was submitted to the French National Assembly on November 22, 2017.

III. Health or health and social care agreements

Pursuant to French legislation and to the health or health and social care cooperation framework agreements that have been signed by France, various cross-border agreements have been concluded between France’s social security organizations and certain health or health and social care facilities located in another European Union member state or party to the European economic area agreement, upon authorization from the competent authorities or the regional health agency (« Agence régionale de santé »/ARS ).

It should be noted that these agreements generally apply to border-area residents and health care professionals.

To determine whether a person is covered by these cross-border agreements, it is essential to check the agreements’ material, personal, and geographical scope of application.

Agreements signed by France :

Les conventions transfrontalières de coopération sanitaire ou médico-sociale

fr en

L'objectif des conventions de coopération sanitaire ou médico-sociale est de permettre aux patients de profiter de soins de qualité au plus près de leur lieu de résidence, l'hôpital le plus proche pouvant être situé de l'autre côté de la frontière.

I. Contexte

En complément aux dispositifs prévus par Règlements européens (CE) 883/2004 et (CE) 987/2009 et par la Directive 2011/24 (UE) sur les soins transfrontaliers, la législation française interne relative à la prise en charge des soins reçus hors de France avait, dès 2005, parachevé l'intégration en droit interne de la jurisprudence communautaire relative à la libre prestation de services et à la libre circulation des marchandises en matière de soins de santé.

Ainsi, le code de la sécurité sociale permet la conclusion de conventions transfrontalières entre les organismes de sécurité sociale et certains établissements sanitaires ou médico-sociaux établis dans un Etat membre de l'Union européenne ou partie à l'accord sur l'Espace économique européen ou la Suisse, après autorisation des autorités compétentes ou de l'agence régionale de santé.

Ces conventions prévoient les conditions de séjour dans ces établissements de malades bénéficiaires de la prise en charge des frais de santé ou de personnes qui leur sont rattachées au sens des règlements européens, qui ne peuvent recevoir en France les soins appropriés à leur état, ainsi que les modalités de remboursement des soins dispensés.

Les personnes mentionnées ci-dessus qui bénéficient des conventions sont dispensées, lorsqu'il s'agit de soins hospitaliers, d'autorisation préalable.

II. Les accords cadres

Afin d'organiser et de standardiser ce type de conventions, les autorités françaises compétentes ont décidé de conclure avec leurs homologues européens des accords cadres.

En effet, dès lors que les soins médicaux demeurent une compétence nationale des différents Etats membres, des accords bilatéraux dans ce domaine restent indispensables pour éliminer les obstacles à la libre circulation des patients et des professionnels de santé.

Les principales dispositions de ces accords cadre visent à :

Les accords-cadres signés par la France :

*Deux accords cadres ont été signés avec la Suisse (27/09/2016) et le Luxembourg (21/11/2016). Un projet de loi autorisant l'approbation de ces deux accords cadres sur la coopération sanitaire transfrontalière a été déposé le 22/11/2017 à l'Assemblée Nationale.

III. Les conventions de coopération sanitaire ou médico-sociale

En application de la législation française et des accords cadres de coopération sanitaire ou médico-sociale signés par la France, différentes conventions transfrontalières ont été conclues entre les organismes de sécurité sociale et certains établissements sanitaires ou médico-sociaux établis dans un Etat membre de l'Union européenne ou partie à l'accord sur l'Espace économique européen ou la Suisse, après autorisation des autorités compétentes ou de l'agence régionale de santé.

Ces conventions s'adressent de façon générale aux populations et professionnels de santé frontaliers.

Pour déterminer si une personne peut bénéficier de ces conventions, il est primordial d'en vérifier le champ d'application matériel, personnel et géographique.

Les conventions signées par la France :