The European directive on patients' rights

fr en

Directive No. 2011/24/EU of March 9, 2011 on patients' rights in cross-border healthcare aims to guarantee patient mobility and the free provision of healthcare services.

It has been applicable in the European member States since October 25, 2013, and in the European Economic Area* (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) since August 1st, 2015. However, it does not apply to Switzerland.

Background information

The European Union's coordination rules guarantee that an insured individual who travels within the European Union will receive the same healthcare as if s/he were a member of the healthcare system of the State in which treatment is provided.

Coordination regulations (EC) Nos. 883/04 and 987/09 entitle insured individuals to receive healthcare elsewhere within the European Union or the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway), as well as in Switzerland, and be covered for the care received by their home country's healthcare system according to that system's specific guidelines.

Legal precedent from the European Court of Justice has subsequently reinforced patients' rights. Indeed, by taking account of legal precedent ( Kohll, Decker, Smits and Peerbooms, and Watts rulings), the directive reaffirms the principle of free movement of people.

This directive includes social security coordination rules which work together with those provided by (CE) regulations Nos. 883 and 987.

Content of the directive

The Directive aims to facilitate access to safe, high-quality cross-border healthcare and to promote healthcare-related cooperation between EU and EEA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) member States, while maintaining each State's independent authority to organize and provide healthcare services:

People covered

The directive covers all European Union citizens, as well as residents who are citizens of other countries and meet certain criteria.

When applied to the EEA member states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway), the directive does not cover citizens of other countries. Indeed, these States have not ratified EU Regulation N° 1231/2010 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 November 2010 extending Regulation (EC) No 883/2004 and Regulation (EC) No 987/2009 to nationals of third countries who are not already covered by these Regulations solely on the ground of their nationality.

The directive refers to the concept of "the patient" rather than the "insured" as is the case in the European coordination regulations.

Healthcare covered

The directive covers all healthcare provided or prescribed in a member State that is not the State of affiliation. It also covers the prescription and delivery of medications and medical devices which are supplied as part of the healthcare being received.

The directive does not apply to:

Healthcare providers covered

The directive covers all healthcare providers legally practicing medicine (public or private, whether or not they charge government-regulated fees), and regardless of whether the services they provide are "reimbursable."

Transposition into French law

The criteria for and details of how medical care is reimbursed, as provided by regulations Nos. 883/04 and 987/09, which currently cover patients who receive care in another European Union or EEA country or Switzerland, remain applicable.
The directive adds on to the current system by incorporating ECJ legal precedent and by bolstering patients' rights when it comes to information and to the quality and safety of care.
The rules for coverage of care are set forth by articles R 160-1 et seq of the French social security code:

The provisions of the directive pertaining to the recognitions of prescriptions written in another EU member State have been transposed into French law by decrees No. 2013-1216 of December 23, 2013 (medications) and No. 2014-1525 of December 27, 2014 (medical devices).

French Law No. 2014-201 of February 24, 2014, which brings various aspects of French health-related law into line with European law, requires persons authorized to use the titles of "chiropractor" and "osteopath" to take out specific insurance.

Decree No. 2015-223 of February 26, 2015 pertaining to the setup and revised roles of the Cleiss, designates the latter as France's National Contact Point as defined by directive No. 2011/24/EU.

How the directive works together with regulation No. 883/2004

The directive mainly applies to ambulatory care, whether or not it is scheduled. Unforeseen or emergency care covered by the EHIC remains within the scope of (EC) regulations Nos. 883/04 and 987/09.

This means that the scopes of (EC) regulation No. 883/2004 and directive No. 2011/24/EC coexist and are complementary. A comparison of the healthcare system in the country of affiliation and that of the country where care is received will determine whether the directive or the regulation applies.

(EC) regulation No. 883/2004:

Directive No. 2011/24/EU:

La directive européenne sur les droits des patients

fr en

La Directive n° 2011/24/UE du 9 mars 2011 relative à l'application des droits des patients en matière de soins de santé transfrontaliers vise à garantir la mobilité des patients et la libre prestation de services de santé.

Elle est applicable depuis le 25 octobre 2013 dans les Etats membres de l'Union européenne et depuis le 1er août 2015 pour les Etats de l'Espace Economique Européen* (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège). Elle ne s'applique pas à la Suisse.

Contexte

Les règles de coordination de l'Union européenne garantissent qu'un assuré qui se déplace au sein de l'Union européenne est traité selon les mêmes conditions que les ressortissants des Etats concernés.

Les règlements de coordination(CE) n°883/04 et n°987/09 permettent aux personnes assurées de se faire soigner dans un autre pays européen ou de l'Espace Economique Européen (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège) ainsi qu'en Suisse, à la charge de leur régime d'affiliation selon des modalités particulières. Ils fixent des règles communes permettant de coordonner les régimes nationaux de sécurité sociale.

La jurisprudence de la Cour de Justice de l'Union Européenne est venue ensuite enrichir les droits des patients. La directive, en intégrant cette jurisprudence (arrêts Kohll, Decker, Smits et Peerbooms, Watts), réaffirme le principe de libre circulation des personnes.

Cette directive comporte des règles de coordination en matière de sécurité sociale, qu'il convient d'articuler avec celles prévues par les règlements (CE) n° 883 et n° 987.

Contenu de la directive

Elle a pour objectifs de faciliter l'accès aux soins de santé transfrontaliers sûrs et de qualité élevée et d'encourager la coopération en matière de soins de santé entre les Etats membres et ceux de l'EEE (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège) dans le plein respect des compétences nationales en matière d'organisation et de prestation des soins de santé :

Personnes couvertes

Pour les Etats membres de l'Union Européenne, la directive concerne tous les citoyens de l'Union européenne, ainsi que, sous condition, les résidents ressortissants d'Etats tiers.

Pour les Etats membres de l'EEE (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège), la directive ne concerne pas les ressortissants d'Etats tiers , ces Etats n'ayant pas ratifié le Règlement (UE) n° 1231/2010 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 24 novembre 2010 visant à étendre le règlement (CE) n° 883/2004 et le règlement (CE) n° 987/2009 aux ressortissants de pays tiers qui ne sont pas déjà couverts par ces règlements uniquement en raison de leur nationalité.

La directive se réfère à la notion de « patient » et non à celle d'assuré comme c'est le cas dans le cadre des règlements européens de coordination.

Soins concernés

La directive vise tous les soins de santé dispensés ou prescrits dans un État membre autre que l'État membre d'affiliation. Sont également concernés la prescription et la fourniture de médicaments et dispositifs médicaux dès lors qu'ils sont fournis dans le cadre d'un service de santé.

La directive ne s'applique pas :

Prestataires de soins concernés

La directive concerne tous les prestataires de soins de santé (publics, privés, conventionnés ou non) exerçant légalement leur activité, indépendamment du caractère « remboursable » de leurs prestations.

Transposition dans le droit français

Les conditions et modalités de remboursement des soins médicaux, telles que prévues par les réglements n°883/04 et 987/09, dont bénéficient actuellement les patients qui vont se faire soigner dans un autre pays de l'Union européenne, de l'EEE ou en Suisse demeurent applicables.

La directive vient parachever cet édifice en incorporant la jurisprudence de la CJUE et en renforçant les droits des patients en matière d'information, de qualité et de sécurité des soins.

Les règles de prise en charge des soins sont prévues aux articles R 160-1 et suivants du code de la sécurité sociale :

Les dispositions de la directive relatives à la reconnaissance des prescriptions établies dans un autre État membre de l'Union européenne sont transposées par les décrets n° 2013-1216 du 23 décembre 2013 (médicaments) et n°2014-1525 du 17 décembre 2014 (dispositifs médicaux).

La loi n° 2014-201 du 24 février 2014 portant diverses dispositions d'adaptation au droit de l'Union européenne dans le domaine de la santé prévoit notamment une obligation d'assurance professionnelle spécifique pour les personnes autorisées à faire usage des titres de chiropracteur et d'ostéopathe.

Le décret n° 2015-223 du 26 février 2015 relatif à l'organisation et à l'adaptation des missions du Cleiss désigne ce dernier comme point de contact au sens de la directive 2011/24/UE.

Articulation de la directive avec le règlement n°883/2004

La directive concerne essentiellement les soins ambulatoires qu'ils soient programmés ou non. Les soins inopinés ou urgents couverts par la CEAM demeurent régis par les règlements (CE) n° 883/04 et 987/09.

Ainsi, le régime du règlement (CE) n° 883/2004 et de la directive 2011/24/CE coexistent et sont complémentaires. En fonction de la comparaison entre le système du pays d'affiliation et celui du pays des soins, soit la directive, soit le règlement s'applique.

Règlement (CE) n° 883/2004 :

Directive n° 2011/24/UE :