If you travel to France from another EU or EEA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) member State or Switzerland to seek medical care

fr en

If you are insured* (or the beneficiary of an insured individual) under the Social Security system of an EU or EEA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) member State or Switzerland, you may receive healthcare coverage from your member State of affiliation if you travel to France in order to receive medical care.

* worker, unemployed, pensioner, daily benefits recipient

For detailed information on coverage, please check with your State of affiliation by contacting either your local health insurance fund or your home country's national contact point.

A - Your healthcare

Coverage of scheduled treatment

Legislative framework :

The portable S2 certificate, "Entitlement to scheduled treatment" (equivalent to the E112 certificate) authorizes you to travel to France to receive medical care. With this certificate, you are entitled to coverage in accordance with France's regulations and established rates. Indeed, you will receive care under the same conditions as those insured under the French social security system.

You must apply for your certificate early enough so that your local sickness fund has enough time to process your application before your departure.

How does the S2 certificate work in France?

In France, the organization with the authority to reimburse healthcare expenses and inform the patient on state-registered ("conventionné") doctors, state-registered ("conventionné") or certified healthcare facilities is the "Caisse primaire d'assurance maladie" (CPAM) in metropolitan France or the "Caisse générale de sécurité sociale" (CGSS) in France's overseas "départements" (DOM). You can do a "département"-by-"département" search for the local CPAM or CGSS, based on where you will be staying.

In France, benefits in kind (healthcare) cover medical expenses, pharmaceutical expenses, the cost of dental care and prostheses, hospitalization expenses, the costs of laboratory tests and analyses, and transportation expenses.

Medical and dental care

Before you see a doctor or dentist, make sure that s/he is state-registered ("conventionné"). "Conventionné" doctors will have one of two statuses:

In either case, your reimbursement by the CPAM or CGSS where the care was provided will be based on state-regulated fees.

You can search for a healthcare professional by location on the French healthcare insurance website Ameli.

If you are insured in another EU member state or Switzerland, the provisions of French law pertaining to the healthcare pathway (appointing a primary care physician, who must be consulted before consulting a specialist) do not apply to you. You must show the (general practitioner or specialist) doctor you see your S2 certificate as proof that the healthcare pathway does not apply to you, and to make sure that you are not charged an extra fee.

You will need to pay the doctor's or dentist's fees upfront: the practitioner will then draw up a "feuille de soins" (medical expense claim form) so that you can be reimbursed either locally or in your State of affiliation.

Pharmacy expenses

You can purchase your medication in any pharmacy by showing the prescription written by your doctor. You will need to pay the pharmacist directly, and s/he will draw up a "feuille de soins" (medical expense claim form) so that you can be reimbursed.

How do I apply for reimbursement locally?

You will need to submit your dated and signed "feuille de soins," along with your prescription and a copy of your S2 (or E 112) certificate, either in person or by mail, to the CPAM (or CGSS in the overseas "départements") that covers the location where you received care. Provide your permanent address and your banking information (bank name and address, SWIFT code, and account number with your IBAN or BIC code).

Medical expenses are reimbursed 70% of the rates set by the French Social Security system. The rest is an out-of-pocket expense for the insured. For information purposes, the State-regulated charge to see a general practitioner or a specialist is 25 euros. If you see a general practitioner, you will be reimbursed €16.50 by the CPAM and your out-of-pocket expense will come to €8.50.

Doctor-prescribed laboratory tests and analyses are reimbursed 60% of the rates set by the French Social Security system.

Extensive medical treatment costing 120 euros or more, or procedures assigned a coefficient of 60 or above, are reimbursed 100%. Nevertheless, you will have to pay an 18 euro flat-rate fee per treatment, regardless of its cost. This 18-euro co-payment applies whether the procedure is performed in a doctor's office or at a hospital.

Medications are reimbursed if they are prescribed by a doctor and appear on the list of reimbursable pharmaceutical products. Reimbursement rates depend on the item and are 15%, 35%, 65%, or 100% of the sale price, or of the reference price for certain groups of generic medications:

If you choose to be reimbursed when you return to your home country

Legislative framework :

If you have paid medical expenses upfront in France, European law allows you to submit your paid invoices to your local sickness fund in your home country for reimbursement of your health expenses in France. You will be reimbursed according either to French rates or, if you agree, according to the rates set by your member State of affiliation.

Hospitalization

If you have a scheduled hospitalization, you will need to show an S2 certificate, "entitlement to scheduled treatment", to the hospital's admissions desk. The S2 certificate means that you will not have to pay your hospitalization expenses upfront. These are directly covered by the French health insurance fund at a rate of 80%, or 100% in certain cases.
Indeed, you will only be responsible for your co-payment:

Some people with 100% coverage may be exempted from paying either or both of these flat fees (those with CMU-C coverage, patients with a long-term illness, a work-related illness, or an occupational accident injury, and pregnant women from the 6th month of pregnancy).

If you are admitted to a private facility, check that it is "conventionné".

B - If you are prescribed medical leave from work

The daily benefits (also known as cash benefits) which are paid by France's health-maternity insurance system are intended to replace income (wages, salary, or unemployment benefits) which is suspended due to illness or maternity.

1) When you leave your home country

In order to continue receiving cash benefits or daily compensation from your home country's health insurance system, you must have received prior authorization from your sickness fund in your home country before you travel to France to receive treatment.

2) During your stay in France

Legislative framework:

  • art. 21 of (EC) Regulation No. 883/04
  • art. 27 of (EC) Regulation No. 987/09

If you are found unfit for work, you must immediately see a primary care physician to obtain a medical certificate which you will need to submit directly to your sickness fund in your home country by the deadline established by local law.

Your cash benefits or daily compensation will be granted and paid directly by the fund in your member State of affiliation

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Receiving healthcare in France :

Vous venez vous faire soigner en France depuis un Etat membre de l'UE, de l'EEE (Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège) ou la Suisse

fr en

Si vous êtes assuré* (ou ayant droit) d'un régime de sécurité sociale d'un Etat membre de l'Union Européenne, de l'EEE (Islande, Liechtenstein, Norvège) ou de la Suisse, lorsque vous vous rendez sur le territoire français dans le but d'y recevoir un traitement médical, vous êtes susceptible de bénéficier de la prise en charge des soins de santé par votre Etat d'affiliation.

* travailleur, chômeur, pensionné, bénéficiaire d'indemnités journalières

Sur les modalités de prise en charge des soins, veuillez vous renseigner dans votre Etat d'affiliation, soit auprès de votre organisme d'assurance maladie, soit auprès du point de contact de votre pays.

A - Vos soins de santé

Prise en charge des soins programmés

Textes de référence :

Le document portable S2 « Droit aux soins médicaux programmés » (équivalent du formulaire E112) correspond à une autorisation de vous rendre en France pour vous faire soigner. Il vous permet de bénéficier de la prise en charge des soins conformément à la réglementation et à la tarification françaises. Les prestations sont ainsi servies dans les mêmes conditions que celles prévues pour les assurés du régime français.

La demande d'autorisation doit être présentée suffisamment tôt afin de permettre à votre caisse d'affiliation de répondre avant votre départ.

Comment utiliser le formulaire S2 en France ?

En France, l'organisme compétent pour renseigner le patient sur les médecins conventionnés, sur les établissements de soins conventionnés ou agréés, et pour effectuer le remboursement des frais, est la Caisse primaire d'assurance maladie (CPAM) en métropole ou la caisse générale de sécurité sociale (CGSS) dans les départements d'outre-mer (DOM). Vous pouvez rechercher par département la CPAM ou la CGSS compétente, en fonction de votre lieu de séjour.

En France, les prestations en nature (soins de santé) couvrent les frais médicaux, les frais pharmaceutiques, les frais de soins et prothèses dentaires, les frais d'hospitalisation, les frais d'analyses et d'examens de laboratoire, ainsi que les frais de transport.

Soins médicaux et dentaires

Avant de vous rendre chez le médecin ou le dentiste, il convient de vous assurer que ce dernier est bien conventionné. Parmi les médecins conventionnés, 3 statuts sont possibles :

Dans tous les cas, le remboursement par la CPAM ou la CGSS du lieu des soins est effectué sur la base du tarif conventionnel.

Vous pouvez rechercher un professionnel de santé en fonction de votre lieu de séjour sur le site de l'assurance maladie française.

Si vous êtes assuré(e) sur le territoire d'un autre État membre de l'UE ou de la Suisse, les dispositions de la législation française relative au parcours de soins (désignation d'un médecin traitant, consultation de ce dernier avant de consulter un spécialiste) ne vous sont pas applicables. Vous devez présenter au médecin (généraliste ou spécialiste) votre formulaire S2 afin de justifier que le parcours de soins ne vous est pas applicable et d'éviter que le médecin facture un supplément d'honoraires.

Vous devez régler directement les honoraires au médecin ou au dentiste, qui établira une feuille de soins aux fins de remboursement sur place ou dans votre Etat d'affiliation.

Pharmacie

Pour obtenir des médicaments, vous pouvez vous rendre dans n'importe quelle pharmacie en présentant la prescription remise par votre médecin. Il convient de régler directement le pharmacien qui vous remet une feuille de soins aux fins de remboursement.

Comment être remboursé(e) sur place ?

Vous devez remettre au guichet ou par courrier la feuille de soins datée, signée, et accompagnée de la prescription ainsi que d'une copie du formulaire S2 (ou E 112) à la CPAM ou la CGSS dans les départements d'outre-mer, dans la circonscription de laquelle les soins vous ont été dispensés. Précisez votre adresse permanente et vos références bancaires (nom de la banque, adresse, code SWIFT, n° de compte avec code IBAN ou BIC).

Les frais médicaux sont remboursés au taux de 70 % du tarif de responsabilité. Une partie des frais reste à la charge de l'assuré. Il s'agit du ticket modérateur. À titre indicatif, le tarif conventionnel de la consultation chez un médecin généraliste est fixé à 25 €. Le remboursement effectué par la caisse s'élève à 16,50 € (17,50 € moins 1 € de participation forfaitaire retenue sur chaque consultation ou acte réalisé par un médecin). La somme de 8,50 € reste à votre charge.

Les frais d'analyses et d'examens de laboratoires prescrits par un médecin sont remboursés au taux de 60 % du tarif de responsabilité.

Les actes lourds d'un tarif supérieur ou égal à 120 euros ou les actes ayant un coefficient supérieur ou égal à 60, sont pris en charge à 100 %. Toutefois, une participation forfaitaire de 18 euros par acte reste à votre charge, quel que soit son montant. Elle s'applique pour les actes effectués dans un cabinet de ville ou au cours d'une hospitalisation.

Les médicaments sont remboursés s'ils sont prescrits par un médecin et s'ils figurent sur la liste des spécialités pharmaceutiques remboursables aux assurés sociaux. Selon le cas les médicaments sont remboursés à 15 %, 35 %, 65 % ou 100 % de leur prix de vente ou de la base d'un tarif de référence pour certains groupes de médicaments génériques :

Si vous avez choisi d'être remboursé(e) à votre retour

Textes de référence :

Si vous avez effectué l'avance des frais en France, la règlementation européenne vous permet de demander à votre caisse d'assurance maladie, sur présentation des factures acquittées, le remboursement des frais de santé occasionnés en France. Ce remboursement s'effectue soit sur la base des tarifs français, soit, sous réserve de votre accord, selon les tarifs de votre Etat d'affiliation.

Hospitalisation

En cas d'hospitalisation programmée, vous devez remettre aux services d'admission de l'hôpital un formulaire S2 « droit aux soins programmés ».
La présentation de ce formulaire S2 vous permet de ne pas faire l'avance des frais d'hospitalisation. Ces derniers sont directement pris en charge par la caisse française d'assurance maladie au taux de 80 % ou 100 % dans certains cas.

Vous devrez seulement régler la participation qui reste à la charge du patient :

En cas d'admission dans un établissement privé, il convient de vérifier que cet établissement est conventionné.

B - En cas d'arrêt de travail

Les indemnités journalières de l'assurance maladie-maternité (aussi appelées prestations en espèces) sont destinées à remplacer les revenus (rémunérations, salaires, prestations de chômage) qui sont suspendus pour cause de maladie ou de maternité.

1) Au moment de votre départ

Pour continuer à bénéficier des prestations en espèces ou indemnités journalières de l'assurance maladie étrangère, vous devez avoir obtenu l'autorisation préalable de votre caisse d'assurance maladie étrangère avant de venir vous faire soigner en France.

2) Pendant votre séjour en France

Textes de référence :

  • art. 21 du Règlement (CE) n° 883/04
  • art. 27 du Règlement (CE) n° 987/09

En cas d'incapacité de travail, vous devez vous adresser à un médecin traitant dès le début de l'incapacité de travail pour obtenir un certificat médical que vous devrez adresser directement à votre caisse d'assurance maladie étrangère dans les délais prévus par la règlementation locale.

Vos prestations en espèces ou indemnités journalières de l'assurance maladie sont examinées et servies directement par votre institution d'affiliation.