The accessibility of France's healthcare facilities to people with disabilities

fr en

Legislative framework :

Art. 4, section 2a of Directive No. 2011/24

The French law of February 11, 2005 on equal opportunity, participation and citizenship for people with disabilities sets forth the principle by which "each individual with disabilities is entitled to accommodation to secure equal access to all programs and services. By virtue of this obligation, an individual with disabilities is guaranteed both access to the fundamental rights belonging to all citizens and the ability to fully exercise citizenship."

French law requires public and private healthcare facilities alike to make their public areas accessible so as to allow people with disabilities to move about freely (access ramps) and understand all information on display (low vision-adapted signage, guides for the hard of hearing, etc.)

Public parking areas belonging to the facility must have at least one reserved disabled parking space. This requirement applies to both indoor garages and outdoor lots.

There must be an obstacle-free pathway in from outside that is wide enough to allow a person on foot to pass a person using a wheelchair, a person pushing a stroller, or a person using a cane.

Entryways, reception areas, waiting rooms and areas where care is provided must be easily accessible to all people, whether or not they have a disability.

Any facility open to the public that offers a public restroom must offer at least one handicap-accessible toilet. When restrooms are separated by gender, a handicap-accessible toilet must be set up in each restroom.

Finally, seeing-eye or service dogs cannot be denied access to areas open to the public (reception and waiting areas). However, dogs may not enter areas where care is to be provided under sterile conditions.

France's health care facilities had a deadline of January 1, 2015 to become compliant with the law. Since the objectives set for that date were not met, order No. 2014-1090 of September 26, 2014 has loosened the requirements by rolling out a scheduled accessibility calendar (Ad'Ap). This calendar extends the deadline past 2015 for public facilities (ERP) to perform accessibility works.
Each of France's healthcare facilities is now able to provide precise information on its level of accessibility to persons with disabilities.

For more information: Healthcare professionals' facilities

L'accessibilité des établissements de santé français aux personnes handicapées

fr en

Cadre légal

Art 4 §2a de la directive 2011/24

La loi du 11 février 2005 pour l'égalité des droits et des chances, la participation et la citoyenneté des personnes handicapées instaure le principe selon lequel « toute personne handicapée a droit à la solidarité de l'ensemble de la collectivité nationale, qui lui garantit, en vertu de cette obligation, l'accès aux droits fondamentaux reconnus de tous les citoyens ainsi que le plein exercice de sa citoyenneté ».

La loi française oblige les établissements de santé, publics et privés, de permettre aux personnes handicapées d'accéder aux parties ouvertes au public, d'y circuler librement (rampes d'accès) et d'y recevoir les informations diffusées (signalisation adaptée pour les malvoyants, guides pour les malentendants, etc.).

Les parkings ouverts au public et rattachés à l'établissement, doivent comporter une ou plusieurs places de stationnement adaptées pour les personnes handicapées et réservées à leur usage. Cette obligation est valable pour les parkings intérieurs comme extérieurs.

Un cheminement doit être libre de tout obstacle, depuis la voirie publique, afin de permettre au minimum le croisement d'une personne valide avec une personne circulant en fauteuil roulant ou d'une personne avec poussette ou d'une personne avec canne.

Les lieux d'entrée, d'accueil, les salles d'attente et de soins doivent être aisément accessibles à toute  personne, qu'elle soit valide ou à mobilité réduite.

Dans un établissement recevant du public, si des toilettes sont ouvertes au public, au moins, un sanitaire doit être accessible aux patients handicapés. Lorsqu'il existe des toilettes séparées pour chaque sexe, un cabinet d'aisances doit être aménagé pour chacun d'eux.

Enfin, l'accès des chiens guides d'aveugles ou d'assistance ne peut pas être refusé dans les parties librement accessibles au public (espaces d'accueil et d'attente). En revanche, le chien n'accède pas aux locaux où sont prodigués des soins nécessitant le respect des règles d'asepsie.

Les établissements avaient jusqu'au 1er janvier 2015 pour se mettre en conformité avec la loi. Les objectifs fixés pour cette date n'étant pas atteints, l'ordonnance 2014-1090 du 26 septembre 2014 assouplit les obligations en mettant en place l'agenda d'accessibilité programmée (Ad'Ap). Ce dernier permettra de prolonger le délai, après 2015 pour effectuer les travaux de mise en accessibilité des Etablissements Recevant du Public (ERP).

D'ores et déjà, chaque établissement de santé peut fournir des données précises sur son niveau d'accessibilité aux personnes handicapées.

Pour en savoir plus : Les locaux des professionnels de santé