You are an employer based in another European Union member State, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, or Switzerland, sending an employee with member State citizenship who ordinarily performs their job in the State where you are based to France

fr en

You are an employer based in another European Union member State, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway* , or Switzerland** , sending an employee with member State citizenship who ordinarily performs their job in the State where you are based to France.

Under European regulations, mobile workers within the European Union must only belong to a single social security system, generally that of the State where they perform their job.

If your employee qualifies for posted-worker status, they are required to remain a member of their home State's social security system.

If your employee does not qualify for posted-worker status, it may be possible to reach a special agreement. In either case, social security contributions and charges will continue to be payable in the State where you are based, which exempts you from also paying them in France.

 

I - The employee you are sending to France will remain a member of the social security scheme of the State where you are based

Postings lasting up to 24 months and procedures

Posting means that an employer based in a member State in which they ordinarily conduct business temporarily sends an employee to work in another member State. During that period, your employee will continue to come under the social security legislation of their usual State of employment (home State).

For your employee to remain a member of their usual social protection scheme, you and they will need to continue to have an ongoing direct (or employer-employee) relationship.

A -Posting rules Postings can last for a period of no more than 24 months

French law grants automatic posted-worker status if the employer and the employee meet the following requirements:

1. Requirements for the employer

2. Requirements for the employee

B. Your required paperwork

The E101 form has been replaced by the A1 portable document, which certifies the holder's applicable legislation. However, European social security institutions can continue to use the E101 form pursuant to Decision No. E5 of March 16, 2017, from the Administrative Committee for Social Security System Coordination (CACSSS).

Before your employee goes to France, you are required to take the following steps (art. 15 of (EC) regulation No. 987/2009):

Postings beyond 24 months, individual agreements and procedures

Any special agreements come under article 16 of (EC) regulation No. 883/2004.

The member States' competent authorities, or their designated institutions, can mutually agree to an exception to the provisions of articles 11 through 15 of (EC) regulation 883/2004. Any exception must be reached for the purpose of furthering the interests of certain employees or categories of employees. The possibility for special agreements is not designed for postings in particular but covers all exceptions to the various social security membership rules. Article 16 allows for the posting length cutoffs under article 12, paragraph 1, of the regulation to be extended for certain categories of workers.

Special agreements pursuant to article 16 are used for the following purposes:

You will need to submit a request for application of article 16 of (EC) Regulation No. 883/04 to the competent institution for the State where you are based. That institution is competent to process, authorize, and send the application for continued membership in the worker's current social security system to the competent French institution, Cleiss. Cleiss will then notify the institution from which it received the application of its opinion.

If the two authorities or institutions (Cleiss and that of the State where you are based) agree, an A1 or E101 certificate of applicable legislation will be issued for the authorized period of time, referencing the agreement provided by Cleiss. As an employer, you will also need to notify the competent institution for the State where you are based of any changes to your employee's status (interruption, return, etc.)

The maximum length of exemption from Social Security membership in the State where work is carried out is determined by each member State.

If the application is rejected, your member will have compulsory membership in the French social security system, with social security contributions and charges payable in France.

Rights of employees posted to France

II – The employee you are sending to France is required to join the French social security system

If your employee does not qualify for posted-worker status, they will need to join the French social security system for all risks.

A. If you are sending your employee to a place of business which your company has in France

If your company has a place of business in France and you are sending an employee there, they will be required to join the French social security system. All contributions and charges will be paid by your French place of business under the same rules as for the other employees working there.

To learn more: how to register a place of business in France.

B. If your company does not have a place of business in France

Workers doing their job in France on behalf of a foreign employer are required to join the French social security system.

You are required to register and pay all compulsory contributions and charges in France.

The National Center for non-French Companies (“Centre National des Firmes Etrangères”/ CNFE) is France's single contact for employers with no place of business in France. This is where they declare their company and their employees who are required to join the French scheme. CNFE is tasked with notifying the designated social security institutions with which the company is required to register (unemployment insurance, supplementary retirement pension fund, etc.)

Social security contributions and charges are payable to CNFE, which also collects unemployment insurance contributions and charges as from January 1st, 2011.

For more information: URSSAF: Entreprise étrangère sans établissement en France (Foreign employers with no place of business in France) and The Foreign Firms' Slip (“Titre Firmes Etrangères”/ TFE)

The Malakoff Humanis group is the competent organization to collect supplementary pension contributions:

If your company's business activities come under France's agricultural scheme, the National Foreign Firms Center (“Centre National des Firmes Etrangères”/ CNFE) is MSA d'Alsace:

The MSA fund also administers any contractual contributions.

On the official social declaration website net-entreprises (or msa.fr if your company's business activities come under France's agricultural scheme), you can complete several formalities related to the registration of your company, or to a change in your company's activities, at the same time.

You and your employee can agree for the employee to assume your obligations
as regards the payment of social security contributions and charges to CNFE. You will need to notify CNFE of this agreement (article 21, § 2 of (EC) regulation No. 987/09).

Your employee will need a French social security number. This is assigned at birth for those born in France. For individuals born in another country, it is assigned once a pre-hiring declaration (“declaration préalable à l'embauche”/ DPAE) has been submitted for them via net-entreprises.fr (or via msa.fr if the company's business activities come under France's agricultural scheme).

Employeur établi dans un État de l'Union européenne, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Norvège ou en Suisse, vous envoyez en France votre salarié ressortissant d’un État membre qui exerce habituellement son activité sur le territoire de l’Etat où vous êtes établi

Vous êtes un employeur établi dans un État de l'Union européenne, en Islande, au Liechtenstein, en Norvège* ou en Suisse**, vous envoyez en France votre salarié qui exerce habituellement son activité sur le territoire de l'Etat membre où vous êtes établi.

Selon les dispositions européennes le salarié qui se déplace dans l'Union européenne doit être assujetti à une seule législation de sécurité sociale, en règle générale celle de l'Etat où l'emploi est exercé.

Si les conditions relatives au détachement sont remplies, le maintien de votre salarié à son régime habituel de sécurité sociale est obligatoire.

Si les conditions du détachement ne sont pas réunies, des accords exceptionnels peuvent être conclus. Dans les deux cas les cotisations et contributions sociales continuent d'être versées dans l'Etat où vous êtes établi, ce qui vous exonère du paiement de celles-ci en France.

I - Le salarié que vous envoyez en France est maintenu au régime de protection sociale de l'Etat où vous êtes établi.

Détachement dans la limite de 24 mois et procédures.

Le détachement signifie qu'un employeur établi sur le territoire d'un Etat membre où il exerce normalement son activité, envoie temporairement un salarié pour travailler sur le territoire d'un autre Etat membre. Durant cette période, la législation sociale de l'Etat habituel d'activité (Etat d'envoi) reste applicable à la situation de votre salarié.

Pour maintenir votre salarié au régime habituel de protection sociale, il faut que subsiste entre vous et ce dernier un lien de subordination (ou lien organique) et une relation étroite.

A - Conditions du détachement.

La période de détachement est prévue pour une durée n'excédant pas 24 mois. Le détachement est  de droit si les conditions liées à l'employeur et au salarié sont remplies :

1. Les conditions liées à l'employeur:
2. Les conditions liées au salarié:

B. Les formalités que vous devez accomplir:

Le document portable A1 attestant de la législation applicable remplace le formulaire E101 et le formulaire E102 qui est supprimé. Jusqu'au 30 avril 2012 le formulaire E 101 peut continuer à être utilisé par les organismes européens de sécurité sociale (Décision E1 du 12 juin 20009 CACSSS) ;

Avant le départ de votre salarié pour la France vous devez (art. 15 du règlement (CE) 987/2009):

Détachement au delà de 24 mois, accords individuels et procédures.

Les accords exceptionnels sont prévus par l'article 16 du règlement (CE) n° 883/2004.

Les autorités compétentes des États membres ou les organismes désignés par ces autorités peuvent prévoir d'un commun accord, dans l'intérêt de certaines catégories de salariés ou de certains salariés, des exceptions aux dispositions des articles 11 à 15 du règlement (CE) 883/2004. Cela ne vise pas de manière spécifique le détachement, mais toutes dérogations aux différentes règles d'assujettissement. L'article 16 permet, pour certaines catégories de travailleurs, l'extension des conditions de durée de détachement prévues à l'article 12, paragraphe 1, du règlement.

Les accords exceptionnels de l'article 16 sont utilisés pour :

Vous devez vous adresser à l'institution compétente de l'État où vous êtes établi et faire une demande d'application de l'article 16 du règlement (CE) n° 883/04. Cette institution est compétente pour examiner, autoriser et transmettre à l'institution française compétente, le Cleiss, la demande de maintien d'affiliation au régime habituel de protection sociale. Le Cleiss fait connaître en retour son avis à l'institution qui l'a saisi.

S'il y a accord conjoint entre les deux autorités ou institutions (le Cleiss et celle de l'État où vous êtes établi), le document attestant de la législation applicable A1 ou E 101 est alors délivré pour la durée autorisée et comporte les références de l'accord donné par le Cleiss. En tant qu'employeur vous devez également informer l'institution compétente de l'Etat où vous êtes établi de tout changement concernant la situation de votre salarié (interruption, retour...).

La durée maximale d'exonération d'affiliation dans l'Etat de travail est déterminée par chaque Etat compétent.

En cas de refus, votre salarié est affilié au régime français de protection sociale, les cotisations et contributions sociales sont obligatoirement dues en France.

Les droits du salarié détaché en France

II - Le salarié que vous envoyez en France est affilié au régime français de protection sociale.

Les conditions relatives au détachement ne sont pas remplies votre salarié doit être assujetti au régime français de protection sociale pour tous les risques.

A. Le salarié est envoyé dans un établissement que votre société a en France.

Si votre société a un établissement en France et que le salarié intéressé y est envoyé, il doit être assujetti au régime de protection sociale français. Les cotisations et contributions seront payées par votre établissement français dans les mêmes conditions que les autres salariés de cet établissement.

Pour en savoir plus : démarches liées à l'immatriculation d'un établissement en France.

B. Votre société n'a pas d'établissement en France.

Le salarié qui exerce son activité professionnelle en France pour le compte d'un employeur étranger doit relever du régime français de protection sociale.

Vous devez vous 'immatriculer et verser les cotisations et contributions obligatoires en France.

Le Centre National des Firmes Etrangères est l'organisme unique mis en place pour permettre aux employeurs qui n'ont pas d'établissement en France de déclarer leur entreprise et leurs salariés qui doivent relever du régime français. Il est chargé d'informer les différents organismes de sécurité sociale désignés et auprès desquels l'entreprise doit être immatriculée (assurance chômage, retraite complémentaire...)

Les cotisations et contributions de sécurité sociale sont à verser auprès du CNFE qui recouvre également depuis le  1er janvier 2011 les cotisations et contributions d’assurance chômage.

Pour en savoir plus : URSSAF : Entreprise étrangère sans établissement en France et Le Titre Firmes Etrangères (TFE)

Le groupe Humanis est compétent pour recouvrer les cotisations au titre des retraites complémentaires :

Le site officiel des déclarations sociales net-entreprises.fr  vous permet d'effectuer, en une seule fois, plusieurs formalités liées à l'inscription ou aux modifications de situations de votre  entreprise.

Vous pouvez convenir avec votre salarié qu'il exécute pour votre compte vos obligations de versement de cotisations et contributions auprès du CNFE auquel vous devez notifier cet accord (art. 21, § 2 du règlement (CE) n° 987/09).

S'agissant du numéro d'immatriculation du salarié, il est attribué à la naissance pour les personnes nées en France. Pour les personnes nées à l'étranger, il est attribué à la suite de la déclaration unique d'embauche (DUE) du salarié auprès de net-entreprise.