Available care, rates, physicians, and healthcare facilities in France

fr en

France's healthcare system supports the patient's freedom of choice. Each individual is free to choose his or her primary care physician, specialist in a direct-access field, or healthcare facility, in either the public or the private sector.

Where should I seek care, and what will it cost?

The website Annuaire santé(only in French) is a service provided by the French health care system. Users can perform a multi-criteria search (name, field, location, type of procedure) for a healthcare professional (physician, nurse, pharmacist, etc.) or a healthcare facility (hospital, clinic, etc.) with authorization to practice in France.

There are no waiting lists for hospitalizations in France.

It also provides information on rates and reimbursement levels for care and services.

Annuaire santé smartphone application is also available for free download on Apple store and Google Play.

With regard to hydrotherapy, the National Council of Hydrotherapy Centers (Conseil National des Etablissements Thermaux/ CNETh) offers a website that includes a directory of hydrotherapy centers in France, rate information, and information on coverage for hydrotherapy treatment: www.medecinethermale.fr

You may also want to contact patients’ organizations for information on the health care
professionals who are licensed to treat a specific chronic or rare illness. The list of France’s accredited patients’ organizations is available online.

Which types of medical care and procedures can be reimbursed?

France’s health insurance system provides the following:

  1. Coverage for general and specialized medical care, dental care and prostheses, pharmaceuticals and appliances, laboratory tests, including expenses connected to individual-specific investigations, hospitalizations and treatments at health care facilities, physical rehabilitation, professional training and retraining, in addition to the costs of surgical procedures, pharmaceuticals, contraceptives and contraceptive devices, and examinations and laboratory tests prescribed as a prerequisite to a prescription for contraceptives;
  2. Coverage of transportation expenses for individuals obliged to travel to receive care or undergo appropriate testing for their state of health, as well as to attend a medical examination that has been prescribed pursuant to French social security law,
  3. Coverage of accommodation and treatment for disabled children or adolescents at residential facilities, and of operating expenses linked to social activities conducted by health and social care facilities;
  4. Coverage of care and hospitalizations necessitated by a voluntary termination of pregnancy;
  5. Coverage of prevention-related expenses, including screenings, prevention-related appointments, and vaccinations;
  6. Coverage of oral and dental prevention-related examinations

France’s maternity insurance system covers all medical and pharmaceutical expenses, laboratory analyses and testing, devices, and hospitalizations, whether or not these are related to the patient’s pregnancy, delivery, and postpartum care, which are incurred over a set period. France’s maternity insurance also covers the compulsory pre- and post-natal examinations conducted or prescribed by a doctor or midwife, as well as examinations for young children.

In order to be covered and reimbursed by the French health insurance system, any procedure or treatment performed by a health care professional exercising in private practice or as an employee of another health care professional’s private practice, at a health center, or a health and social care facility or unit, must appear on an official list. In order to appear on the list, the procedure or treatment must be performed in line with:

When a procedure is performed repeatedly, these prescribing requirements may specify how many times it can be performed before prior agreement from the medical examiner’s office is required for an exception to extend coverage.

France’s general nomenclature of medical procedures (“nomenclature générale des actes professionels”/ NGAP) lists the clinical and medical procedures performed by dental surgeons, midwives, and licensed medical workers. Each procedure is assigned a number of key letters depending on type and ordered through the use of weighting coefficients. The agreement sets the monetary value for each key letter.

For technical procedures performed by doctors, it has been replaced by the joint classification of medical procedures (“classification commune des actes médicaux”/
CCAM).

The list of Products and Services qualifying for Reimbursement (“liste des produits et
prestations remboursables
” / LPP) is available online.

Any procedure or service not appearing on these lists cannot be reimbursed by the French health insurance system.

A few examples of health-related expenses not covered by the French health insurance system:

  • dental care: orthodontics for adults, beyond age 16, and periodontal implants
  • optical expenses: most contact lenses, refractive  surgery for nearsightedness
  • alternative medicines: phytotherapy, acupuncture, osteopathy, chiropracty
  • certain vaccines, certain types of contraception
  • medical evacuations and repatriations.

Soins disponibles, tarifs, médecins et établissements en France

fr en

Le système de santé français respecte la liberté de choix du patient. Tout individu est libre de choisir son médecin traitant, un spécialiste en accès direct, son établissement de santé, ceci dans le secteur public comme dans le secteur privé.

Où se faire soigner et à quel tarif ?

Le site Annuaire santé est un service de l'Assurance Maladie française. Il permet de rechercher selon plusieurs critères (nom, spécialité, localisation, type d'acte) un professionnel de santé (médecin, infirmier, pharmacien...) ou un établissement de soin (hôpital, clinique...) autorisé à exercer en France.

Pour les hospitalisations en France, il n'existe pas de listes d'attente.

Il permet également de connaître les tarifs et les bases de remboursement des soins et prestations.

Le service est aussi disponible en application mobile pour smartphone (téléchargeable gratuitement depuis l'Apple store et Google Play).

En ce qui concerne la médecine thermale, le site élaboré par le Conseil National des Établissements Thermaux (CNETh) www.medecinethermale.fr contient un annuaire des établissements thermaux en France, fournit indications tarifaires et informations sur la prise en charge des cures thermales.

Vous pouvez également saisir les associations de malades afin d'obtenir des informations concernant les professionnels de santé habilités dans le traitement d'une maladie chronique particulière ou d'une maladie rare.

La liste des associations de malades agréées en France est consultable sur le site du Ministère chargé de la santé.

Quels soins et actes médicaux sont remboursables ?

La protection sociale contre le risque maladie comporte :

  1. La couverture des frais de médecine générale et spéciale, des frais de soins et de prothèses dentaires, des frais pharmaceutiques et d'appareils, des frais d'examens de biologie médicale, y compris la couverture des frais relatifs aux actes d'investigation individuels, des frais d'hospitalisation et de traitement dans des établissements de soins, de réadaptation fonctionnelle et de rééducation ou d'éducation professionnelle, ainsi que des frais d'interventions chirurgicales, y compris la couverture des médicaments, produits et objets contraceptifs et des frais d'examens et de biologie médicale ordonnés en vue de prescriptions contraceptives ;
  2. La couverture des frais de transport des personnes se trouvant dans l'obligation de se déplacer pour recevoir les soins ou subir les examens appropriés à leur état ainsi que pour se soumettre à un contrôle prescrit en application de la législation de sécurité sociale,
  3. La couverture des frais d'hébergement et de traitement des enfants ou adolescents handicapés dans les établissements et des frais de fonctionnement liés à l'activité sociale des établissements médico-sociaux;
  4. La couverture des frais de soins et d'hospitalisation afférents à l'interruption volontaire de grossesse;
  5. La couverture des frais relatifs à la prévention, notamment des frais relatifs aux examens de dépistage et aux consultations de prévention et aux vaccinations;
  6. La couverture des frais relatifs aux examens de prévention bucco-dentaire

La protection sociale contre le risque maternité couvre l'ensemble des frais médicaux, pharmaceutiques, d'analyse et d'examens de laboratoires, d'appareils et d'hospitalisation, relatifs ou non à la grossesse, à l'accouchement et à ses suites, intervenant au cours d'une période définie. La protection sociale contre les risques et conséquences de la maternité couvre également les examens prénataux et postnataux obligatoires pratiqués ou prescrits par un médecin ou une sage-femme et les contrôles des jeunes enfants.

La prise en charge et le remboursement par l'assurance maladie de tout acte ou prestation réalisé par un professionnel de santé, dans le cadre d'un exercice libéral ou d'un exercice salarié auprès d'un autre professionnel de santé libéral, ou en centre de santé ou dans un établissement ou un service médico-social sont subordonnés à leur inscription sur une liste. L'inscription sur la liste peut elle-même être subordonnée au respect :

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'actes réalisés en série, ces conditions de prescription peuvent préciser le nombre d'actes au-delà duquel un accord préalable du service du contrôle médical est nécessaire pour  poursuivre à titre exceptionnel la prise en charge.

La NGAP (nomenclature générale des actes professionnels) définit la liste des actes cliniques et médicaux effectués par les chirurgiens-dentistes, les sages-femmes et les auxiliaires médicaux. Elle leur attribue des lettres clefs par nature de prestation et les hiérarchise par l'octroi de coefficients. La convention fixe la valeur monétaire des lettres clefs.

Pour les actes techniques effectués par les médecins, elle a été remplacée par la CCAM (classification commune des actes médicaux) .

La liste des produits et prestations (LPP) remboursables est également consultable en ligne.

Tout acte ou prestation qui ne figure pas sur ces listes n'est pas remboursable par l'assurance maladie.

Quelques exemples de dépenses de santé non prises en charge par l'Assurance Maladie :

  • soins dentaires : l'orthodontie pour les adultes, au-delà de 16 ans, les implants et la parodontologie
  • frais d'optique : la plupart des lentilles, la chirurgie de la myopie...
  • les médecines douces : la phytothérapie, l'acupuncture, l'ostéopathie, la chiropractie ...
  • certains vaccins, certaines formes de contraception ...
  • les évacuations sanaitaires et les rapatriements.