Rare diseases

fr en
Legislative framework :
Articles 12 and 13 of Directive No. 2011/24

In the European Union, a rare disease is defined as one affecting fewer than 5 out of 10,000 members of the general population. Approximately 80% of rare diseases are genetic in nature.

Coverage and reimbursement

Patients affected or believed to be affected by a rare disease have the right to access medical in another European Union or European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) member State and to be reimbursed pursuant to (CE) regulations N° 883/04 and 987/09, even if the diagnosis and/or the treatment received is not available in the patient's State of insurance. However, this type of care in another member State is subject to prior authorization from the patient's home State (S2 form required).

Orpha.net

The website www.orpha.net is the online portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs. Its aim is to help promote awareness of rare diseases among patients, their organizations, health professionals, researchers, and the general public. The information available pertains to European Union countries and, more generally, to the countries belonging to the international consortium Orphanet.

Orpha.net provides a number of free services, all of which are fully open-access:

"Maladies Rares Info Services"

"Maladies Rares Info Services" (www.maladiesraresinfo.org ; 01 56 53 81 36) is an information-providing and support service that specializes in rare diseases. It responds individually and in a non-identifying manner to the questions it receives (by telephone, email, postal mail or live chat) and provides information on:

European Reference Networks: 900 medical teams to connect across Europe for the benefit of patients

On the EC website :

Article 12 of Directive No. 2011/24 incites the EU member States to create "European Reference Networks" (ENR) that join together existing healthcare providers and expert centers.

On 1 March the newly established European Reference Networks (ERNs) started their work.

ERNs are unique and innovative cross-border cooperation platforms between specialists for the diagnosis and treatment of rare or low prevalence complex diseases.

24 thematic ERNs, gathering over 900 highly specialized healthcare units from 26 countries, will begin working together on a wide range of diseases. Joining up of EU's best expertise on this scale should benefit to patients with diseases requiring a particular concentration of highly specialized healthcare in medical domains where the expertise is rare.

European Reference Networks (ERNs) are virtual networks bringing together healthcare providers across Europe to tackle complex or rare medical conditions that require highly specialized treatment and a concentration of knowledge and resources. They are being set up under the EU Directive on Patients' Rights in Healthcare (2011/24/EU), which also makes it easier for patients to access information on healthcare and thus increase their treatment options.

In practice, ERNs will develop new innovative care models, eHealth tools, medical solutions and devices. They will boost research through large clinical studies and contribute to the development of new pharmaceuticals, and they will lead to economies of scale and ensure a more efficient use of costly resources, which will have a positive impact on the sustainability of national healthcare systems, and on patients in the EU suffering from rare and/or complex diseases and conditions.

The ERNs will be supported by European cross-border telemedicine tools, and can benefit from a range of EU funding mechanisms.

European platform on rare diseases registration

The new European Platform on Rare Diseases Registration was launched at the occasion of Rare Disease Day on February 28, 2019.

In the EU about 30 million citizens in Europe are affected by more than 6000 different rare diseases. The information about these patients is spread between hundreds of registries across Europe, at national, regional and local levels. The EU Rare Disease Platform aims to collect this information and  provide researchers, healthcare providers, patients and policy-makers with a consistent instrument to improve knowledge, diagnosis and treatment of rare diseases. It will make registries' data searchable at EU level and will standardise data collection and data exchange; which will increase the value of each registry and its registration.

This platform will support the work of the European Reference Networks, which were founded on the principle that knowledge should travel, not the patients.

https://eu-rd-platform.jrc.ec.europa.eu/

Organizations

Orphanet, Maladies Rares Info Services, Eurordis and Alliance Maladies Rares work with the Fondation Maladies rares and AFM/Téléthon to form the Rare Disease platform "Plateforme Maladies Rares" (www.plateforme-maladiesrares.org), located at Broussais Hospital in Paris.

Maladies rares

fr en
Cadre légal : Articles 12 et 13 de la directive 2011/24/UE

Une maladie rare est définie dans l'Union européenne (UE) comme une maladie touchant moins de 5 personnes sur 10 000 en population générale. Environ 80 % d'entre elles sont de cause génétique.

Prise en charge et remboursement

Les patients affectés ou soupçonnés d'être affectés d'une maladie rare ont le droit d'accéder à des soins de santé dans un autre État de l'Union européenne ou de l'Espace économique européen (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège) et d'être remboursés dans le cadre des règlements (CE) n° 883/04 et n° 987/09, même si le diagnostic et/ou le traitement en question n'est pas disponible dans leur État d'affiliation. Une telle prise en charge dans un autre État membre sera, cependant, soumise à autorisation préalable de leur État d'affiliation (formulaire S2 nécessaire).

Orpha.net

Le site www.orpha.net est le portail des maladies rares et des médicaments orphelins. Il a pour but de contribuer à faciliter la connaissance des maladies rares par les patients et leurs associations, les professionnels de santé, les chercheurs et le grand public. Les informations concernent les pays de l'Union européenne, et plus largement les pays du consortium international Orphanet.

Orpha.net propose un ensemble de services gratuits et entièrement en libre accès :

Maladies Rares Info Service

Maladies Rares Info Services (01 56 53 81 36) est un service d'information et de soutien spécialisé dans les maladies rares. Il répond individuellement et de façon anonyme aux demandes qui lui sont adressées (par téléphone, mail, courrier postal ou tchat) et donne des informations sur :

Réseaux européens de référence : Interconnexion de plus de 1 500 équipes médicales à travers l'Europe, dans l'intérêt des patients

Sur le site de la Commission européenne :

L'article 12 de la directive 2011/24 invite les États membres à créer au sein de l'Union européenne des « réseaux européens de référence » en regroupant des prestataires de soins de santé et centres d'expertise existants dans les États membres.

Ces réseaux européens de référence (RER ou ERN, pour European reference networks) ont débuté leurs travaux en 2017.

Ce sont des plateformes de coopération transfrontalière uniques et innovantes, qui réunissent des spécialistes du diagnostic et du traitement des maladies complexes et rares (ou à faible prévalence).

Au total, 24 ERN thématiques – réunissant plus de 900 unités de soins hautement spécialisés, établies dans 26 pays – travaillent ensemble sur un large éventail de maladies. La mise en commun de la meilleure expertise disponible dans ces domaines au sein de l'UE devrait bénéficier aux patients souffrant de maladies rares qui nécessitent une concentration particulière de soins hautement spécialisés dans des domaines médicaux où l'expertise est rare.

620 nouveaux membres ont rejoint les ERN existants au 1er janvier 2022. Au total, environ 1 500 unités de soins participent aux ERN dans 27 États membres et en Norvège.

Les réseaux européens de référence sont des réseaux virtuels réunissant des prestataires de soins dans l'ensemble de l'Europe afin de lutter contre des affections rares ou complexes qui nécessitent un traitement hautement spécialisé et une concentration de connaissances et de ressources. Les ERN sont mis en place dans le cadre de la directive européenne relative aux droits des patients en matière de soins de santé (2011/24/UE), laquelle facilite l'accès des patients à l'information en matière de soins de santé et, partant, renforce leurs options en matière de traitement.

Dans la pratique, les ERN ont pour objectif la mise au point d'outils de santé en ligne, de modèles de soins, de solutions et de dispositifs médicaux nouveaux et innovants. Ils doivent stimuler la recherche grâce à de vastes études cliniques, contribuer à la mise au point de nouveaux médicaments, permettre de réaliser des économies d'échelle et d'assurer une utilisation plus efficace de ressources coûteuses, ce qui aura un effet positif sur la viabilité des systèmes de santé nationaux, et bénéficiera à des patients souffrant de pathologies et de troubles rares et/ou complexes.

L'activité des ERN est soutenue par des outils de télémédecine transfrontaliers. Les ERN bénéficient de financements de l'UE.

Plateforme européenne d'enregistrement des maladies rares

Une plateforme européenne dédiée a été lancée à l'occasion de la journée des maladies rares le 28 février 2019.

Plus de 30 millions de citoyens de l'UE sont affectés par plus de 6 000 maladies rares différentes. Les informations concernant ces patients sont réparties entre des centaines de registres à travers l'Europe, aux niveaux national, régional et local. La plateforme européenne sur les maladies rares vise à collecter ces informations et à fournir aux chercheurs, aux prestataires de santé, aux patients et aux décideurs politiques un instrument cohérent pour améliorer la connaissance, le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies rares. Elle a vocation à rendre les données des registres consultables au niveau de l'UE et à normaliser la collecte et l'échange de données, ce qui augmentera la valeur de chaque registre et de son enregistrement.

Cette plateforme vise à soutenir les travaux des réseaux européens de référence, qui ont été fondés sur le principe que la connaissance doit voyager, et non les patients.

https://eu-rd-platform.jrc.ec.europa.eu/_fr

Associations

Orphanet (Inserm), Maladies Rares Info Services, Eurordis et l'Alliance Maladies Rares forment avec la Fondation Maladies rares et l'AFM-Téléthon la Plateforme Maladies Rares, située à l'Hôpital Broussais à Paris.