Prescriptions written in France: how are these recognized in another country?

fr en

Legislative framework :
European directive No. 2012/52/EU

Article 11 of European directive No. 2011/24, transposed into French law by decree No. 2013-1216 of December 23, 2013(prescription for medications) and decree No. 2014-1525 of December 17, 2014 (prescription for medical devices)

A prescription written by a French doctor is valid in all European Union and European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) member States. A cross-border prescription must meet certain legal requirements in order to ensure the safe delivery of medications and medical devices, and to guarantee that the prescription is correctly interpreted by the foreign health professional.

Indeed, the prescription must include the following information:

If you plan to travel to another European Union or European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) country, make sure to ask your doctor in France for a prescription that is in line with these new requirements.

However, your prescription for medical care or medications may be refused if the persons authorized to dispense medical devices or medications in other EU or EEA countries believe that this is in your best interest, or if they have legitimate, justified doubts as to the authenticity or intelligibility of the prescription, or as to the capacity of the healthcare professional who wrote the prescription.

Prescriptions établies en France : comment sont-elles reconnues à l'étranger ?

fr en

Cadre légal :

Directive européenne n° 2012/52/UE

L'article 11 de la directive européenne n° 2011/24, transposée en France par le décret n° 2013-1216 du 23 décembre 2013(prescription de médicaments) et le décret n°2014-1525 du 17 décembre 2014 (prescription de dispositifs médicaux)

Une prescription établie par un médecin français est valable dans tous les pays de l'Union européenne et de l'Espace Economique Européen (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège). Afin de sécuriser la délivrance de médicaments et dispositifs médicaux, et assurer la bonne compréhension de la prescription par le professionnel de santé étranger, des règles régissent la formulation d'une prescription transfrontalière.

Ce document devra comporter les éléments suivants :

Si vous êtes amenés à vous déplacer dans l'Union européenne et l'Espace Economique Européen (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège), n'oubliez pas de demander à votre médecin en France une prescription conforme à ces nouvelles exigences.

La délivrance de soins médicaux ou de médicaments pourra cependant vous être refusée si les personnes habilitées à délivrer des dispositifs médicaux ou des médicaments dans les autres Etats de l'UE ou de l'EEE estiment que votre intérêt en tant que patient paraît l'exiger ou s'ils ont des doutes légitimes et justifiés quant à l'authenticité ou à l'intelligibilité de la prescription, ou à la qualité du professionnel de santé qui l'a établie.