If you travel to Switzerland to seek medical care

fr en

Important:

Directive No. 2011/24/EU on patients' rights in cross-border healthcare, which incorporates European Union Court of Justice legal precedent with regard to the free movement of services (particularly the Kohll and Decker rulings), does not apply to this country. This legal precedent allows an insured individual to be reimbursed for ambulatory care by his/her member State of affiliation without prior authorization from his/her health insurance fund.

If you are insured* (or the beneficiary of an insured individual) under the French Social Security system, you may be covered for your healthcare expenses if you travel to Switzerland in order to receive medical care.

* Worker, unemployed, pensioner, daily benefits recipient.

The European Social Security coordination rules (Regulations No. 883/2004 and 987/2009) apply to the EEA member States and Switzerland.

In order to be covered for scheduled treatment (hospital-based care) provided in Switzerland, you must apply for prior authorization from your French health insurance fund.

Standard (non emergency) ambulatory care will not be covered. However, you can be covered for emergency or unscheduled treatment using your European health insurance card (EHIC).

If you are a Swiss cross-border worker who has opted for French health insurance membership, special provisions have been adopted to ensure that you benefit from continuity of care while in Switzerland.

1. Scheduled treatment

Before you leave, you must apply for prior authorization of coverage for care requiring at least a one-night hospital stay or the use of highly specialized and costly medical equipment or facilities.

Treatments subject to prior authorization are as follows:

The portable S2 certificate

Legislative framework:

The portable S2 certificate, "Entitlement to scheduled treatment," authorizes you to travel to Switzerland to receive medical care. It means that your care will be covered as provided by local law and according to local rates. Indeed, you will receive the same care as members of the local social security system.

You will need to apply for this document (S2 form) from your local health insurance fund in France. Your application must be sent along with a detailed medical certificate issued by your designated primary care physician specifying:

You will receive notice of prior authorization or refusal of coverage from your health insurance fund within 14 days of receipt of your application. If you receive no response within this timeframe, your application has been approved.

You must apply for your authorization far enough in advance so that your local health insurance fund can process it before you leave.

Your authorization will not be granted automatically. Indeed, the following conditions apply:

If your application is approved, you will be issued with an S2 certificate you will need to show in the Member State you are visiting either to one of the local health insurance fund or directly to your health care provider so that your care is covered locally pursuant to local law.

If your request for prior authorization has been denied, the decision must be reasoned and include instructions on the appeals procedure.

SPECIAL CASE:

If you are not a resident of the competent State, you will need to apply for authorization of scheduled care through the institution of your place of residence, which will immediately forward your application over to your fund of membership (competent institution). In this case, authorization can be granted:

If you need critical emergency care and prior authorization cannot be denied (the care is covered domestically by the member State of residence and cannot be provided within a reasonable timeframe from a medical standpoint), you will be granted authorization by the health insurance fund of your place of residence on behalf of your fund of membership.

If you or your family members are residing in a State that has opted for the reimbursement of care on a lump-sum, the competent institution to issue the prior authorization will be the health insurance fund of your place of residence as that is the fund that will cover the cost of your scheduled care.

Coverage of transportation expenses:

When the medical service processes an application for prior authorization of scheduled care, it must also process any request for coverage of related transportation expenses at the same time, using the criteria set forth by French regulations (submission of an application for prior authorization valid as a medical prescription).

Transportation expenses must have been medically prescribed to the patient and are reimbursed on the basis of the least expensive itinerary and means of transportation that are compatible with the patient's state of health.

2. Requesting reimbursement of your health expenses

If you paid your medical expenses upfront, you can submit your paid invoices and proof of payment, along with a completed S3125c form, to your health insurance fund to request reimbursement. Your health insurance fund may require additional documents, such as medical reports or scan results.
You have a two-year deadline to apply to your health insurance fund for reimbursement of your medical expenses.
If your reimbursements are related to an illness, your two-year deadline begins on the date of care and expires at the end of the same calendar quarter, two years later.
If your reimbursements are maternity-related, your two-year deadline begins on the date your pregnancy was medically confirmed.

The fund will examine your request for reimbursement. In particular, it will check whether prior authorization had been granted and whether the conditions for reimbursement provided by French law, such as the requirement for a prior agreement or a medical prescription, were met.

Where applicable, your health insurance fund will reimburse you for your care based on Social Security rates in the country where the care was provided or, if you so request, based on French Social Security rates up to a maximum of actual expenses. A supplement can be considered if the foreign rates are lower than the French rates for the same treatment: the French health insurance fund will issue a supplementary reimbursement, up to a maximum of your upfront expenses. For example, for a procedure billed 150 euros, if you were issued a 100-euro reimbursement in the foreign country and the French social security rate is 150 euros, you may receive a 50-euro supplement from your French fund.

Vous partez en Suisse pour vous faire soigner

fr en

Important :

Attention : la directive 2011/24/UE relative aux droits des patients en matière de soins transfrontaliers qui intègre la jurisprudence de la Cour de Justice de l'Union Européenne en matière de libre circulation des services (notamment la jurisprudence Kholl et Decker), n'est pas applicable à ce pays. Cette jurisprudence permet à un assuré de bénéficier d'un remboursement des soins ambulatoires par son Etat d'affiliation sans autorisation préalable de son organisme d'assurance maladie.

Si vous êtes assuré* (ou ayant droit mineur) d'un régime français, lorsque vous vous rendez en Suisse dans le but d'y recevoir des soins ou un traitement médical, vous êtes susceptible de bénéficier de la prise en charge des soins de santé.

* travailleur, chômeur, pensionné, bénéficiaire d'indemnités journalières, bénéficiaire de la protection universelle maladie (puma) au titre de la résidence en France.

Les règles de coordination européenne (règlements 883/2004 et 987/2009) en matière de sécurité sociale sont applicables aux Etats de l'EEE ou en Suisse.

Pour bénéficier de la prise en charge de soins programmés (soins hospitaliers) dispensés en Suisse, vous devez demander une autorisation préalable à votre caisse française d'assurance maladie.

Il n'y a pas de prise en charge possible des soins ambulatoires courants (non urgents). Par contre, en cas d'urgence ou de soins inopinés, vous pouvez bénéficier d'une prise en charge sur la base de votre carte européenne d'assurance maladie (CEAM).

Si vous êtes travailleur frontalier suisse relevant de l'assurance maladie française dans le cadre du droit d'option, des dispositions particulières ont été adoptées pour vous permettre de bénéficier d'une continuité des soins en Suisse.

1. Soins programmés

Avant le départ, vous devez impérativement demander une autorisation de prise en charge pour les soins requérant au moins une nuit d'hospitalisation ou nécessitant le recours à des infrastructures ou à des équipements médicaux hautement spécialisés et coûteux.

Ces soins soumis à autorisation sont les suivants :

Le document portable S2

Textes de référence :

Le document portable S2 « Droit aux soins médicaux programmés » correspond à une autorisation de vous rendre en Suisse pour vous faire soigner. Il vous permet de bénéficier de la prise en charge de vos soins conformément à la réglementation et à la tarification locale. Les prestations sont ainsi servies dans les mêmes conditions que celles prévues pour les assurés du régime local.

Vous devez adresser votre demande d'autorisation préalable (formulaire S2) au médecin-conseil de votre caisse maladie en France, accompagnée d'un certificat médical détaillé établi par votre médecin et précisant obligatoirement :

- la maladie,
- les soins qui doivent être pratiqués,
- les raisons pour lesquelles leur réalisation à l'étranger s'avère nécessaire,
- le pays et la structure dans laquelle les soins seront réalisés,
- les dates de début et de fin de la période de soins envisagée.

La décision d'autorisation préalable ou de refus de prise en charge doit être notifiée par votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie dans un délai de 14 jours à compter de la réception de votre demande. Une absence de réponse au-delà ce délai vaut accord.

La demande d'autorisation doit être présentée suffisamment tôt afin de permettre à la caisse d'affiliation de répondre avant votre départ.

La délivrance de cette autorisation n'est pas systématique. Des conditions sont requises :

En cas d'accord, vous devez présenter le formulaire S2 dans l'Etat dans lequel vous vous rendez, soit à une des caisses locales d'assurance maladie, soit directement au prestataire de santé, afin d'obtenir la prise en charge de vos soins sur place, selon la réglementation locale.

En cas de refus, la décision doit être motivée et comporter les informations relatives aux voies et délais de recours dont vous disposez pour contester la décision.

PARTICULARITE :

Si vous ne résidez pas dans l'État compétent, vous devez déposer votre demande d'autorisation pour soins programmés auprès de l'institution du lieu de résidence qui la transmettra sans délai à votre caisse d'affiliation (institution compétente).

Dans ce cas, l'autorisation pourra être accordée :

S'il s'agit de soins d'urgence à caractère vital et que l'autorisation ne peut pas être refusée (les soins figurent parmi les prestations prévues par la législation de l'État membre de résidence et ne peuvent pas être dispensés dans un délai acceptable sur le plan médical), l'autorisation vous sera octroyée par la caisse maladie du lieu de résidence pour le compte de votre caisse d'affiliation.

Si vous ou les membres de votre famille résidez sur le territoire d'un État ayant opté pour le remboursement des prestations sur la base de forfaits, l'institution compétente pour émettre l'autorisation préalable sera la caisse maladie du lieu de résidence car c'est elle qui supportera la charge des soins programmés.

Prise en charge des frais de transport :

L'examen par le service médical de la demande d'autorisation préalable des soins programmés doit inclure simultanément celui d'une demande de prise en charge des frais de transport afférents, dans les conditions prévues par la réglementation française (présentation d'une demande d'accord préalable valant prescription médicale).

Les frais de transport doivent faire l'objet d'une prescription médicale et sont remboursés sur la base du trajet et du mode de transport le moins onéreux compatible avec l'état de santé du patient.

2. Demande de remboursement des frais de soins

Si vous avez effectué l'avance des frais sur place, vous pouvez demander à votre caisse d'affiliation, sur présentation des factures acquittées et des justificatifs de paiement, le remboursement des frais de santé, en remplissant le formulaire S3125c. D'autres documents tels des rapports médicaux ou des radios peuvent être exigés par votre caisse d'affiliation.
Vous disposez d'un délai de 2 ans pour demander à votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie le remboursement de vos soins médicaux.
Si vos remboursements concernent une maladie, ce délai court à compter de la date des soins et expire à la fin du même trimestre civil, 2 ans plus tard.
Si vos remboursements concernent la maternité, ce délai de 2 ans court à compter de la date de première constatation médicale de votre grossesse.

La caisse examine la demande de remboursement. Elle vérifie en particulier si les soins ont été préalablement autorisés et que les conditions prévues par la réglementation française en matière de remboursement sont satisfaites, comme par exemple l'exigence d'une prescription médicale.

Elle procède, s'il y a lieu, au remboursement des soins sur la base du tarif de la sécurité sociale du pays de soins ou, à votre demande, sur la base du tarif français de la sécurité sociale, dans la limite des frais engagés. Un complément est possible si ces tarifs sont inférieurs aux tarifs français pour le même traitement : la caisse française peut procéder à un remboursement complémentaire, dans la limite des dépenses que vous avez engagées. Par exemple, pour un soin facturé 150 euros, si vous avez obtenu un remboursement de 100 euros dans le pays de séjour et que le tarif français de la sécurité sociale est de 150 euros, vous pouvez obtenir un complément de 50 euros en France.