Appealing a refusal of coverage for scheduled treatment

fr en

The following applies if you intend to seek treatment in another EU/EEA country or Switzerland. For certain types of care, you must be issued a certificate of prior authorization (S2 certificate) by your French health insurance fund. Without this document, your treatment will not be covered.

Your authorization (S2 certificate) will be granted if the following conditions are met:

You will receive notice of prior authorization or refusal of coverage from your health insurance fund within 14 days of receipt of your application. If you receive no response within this timeframe, your application has been approved.

You wish to appeal a denial of an S2 certificate application

Appealing an administrative decision

You must first apply to your health insurance fund's arbitration board (“Commission de recours amiable”/ CRA) (list of health insurance funds – CPAM).

If your appeal is denied, you can then bring proceedings before the court of social security affairs (“Tribunal des affaires de sécurité sociale”/ Tass).

As a last resort, you can appeal before the court of appeals (“Cour d'appel") and/or the Court of Cassation (“Cour de cassation”).

Appealing a medical decision

You must first apply to your health insurance fund (CPAM) for an expert medical assessment.

To dispute how your health insurance fund (CPAM) applies the expert's findings, you can appeal to your CPAM's arbitration board (“Commission de recours amiable”/ CRA) within a 2-month deadline following notice of the decision you wish to dispute.

You may then choose to bring proceedings before the court of social security affairs (“Tribunal des affaires de sécurité sociale”/ Tass) within a 2-month deadline following notice of the arbitration board's decision. As a general rule, the Tass with jurisdiction is the one that is local to your place of residence. It is located at the same address as your local court known as the “Tribunal de Grande Instance”/ TGI. You will need to submit your application by registered letter to the secretary of the Tass whose address appears on the notice of the arbitration board (CRA)'s decision that you are appealing, or drop it off at the Tass' administrative office (“secretariat”), within a 2-month deadline:

As a last resort, you can appeal to the court of appeals (“Cour d'appel”) and/or to the Court of cassation (“Cour de cassation”). If your decision from the Tass is handed down “en dernier ressort” (this is the case for disputes involving an amount less than €4,000) you can apply to the Court of cassation (“Cour de cassation”) within a 2-month deadline following the date of notice from the Court of Social Security Affairs (Tass).

If the decision from the Tass is handed down “en premier ressort” (this is the case for disputes involving an amount above €4,000 or when the amount is undetermined), you can appeal before the Social division of the Court of Appeals (“chambre sociale de la cour d'appel”) within a 1-month deadline following notice from the Tass. If you are not satisfied with the decision from the Court of Appeals, you can then apply to the Court of Cassation (“Cour de cassation”) within a 2-month deadline following notice from the Court of Appeals.

The French Justice Ministry's website lists contact information to help you find the courts to which to apply by entering the name of the town in which the fund that denied your S2 form is located.

Recours en cas de refus de prise en charge des soins programmés

fr en

Vous souhaitez vous faire soigner dans un autre pays de l'UE/EEE ou en Suisse. Pour certains soins, une autorisation préalable de prise en charge (formulaire S2) doit être délivrée par votre caisse française d'assurance maladie. Sans ce document, il ne peut y avoir de prise en charge.

L'autorisation (S2) vous est délivrée si les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

La décision d'autorisation préalable ou de refus de prise en charge vous est notifiée par votre caisse d'assurance maladie dans un délai de 14 jours à compter de la réception de votre demande. Une absence de réponse au-delà de ce délai vaut accord.

Vous souhaitez contester la décision de refus de S2

Contester une décision d'ordre administratif

Vous devez tout d'abord saisir la commission de recours amiable (CRA) de votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie (liste des CPAM sur le site Ameli)

Si votre demande est rejetée, vous pourrez ensuite engager une procédure auprès du tribunal des affaires de sécurité sociale (Tass).

En dernier ressort, vous pourrez faire appel auprès de la cour d'appel et/ou vous pourvoir devant la Cour de cassation.

Contester une décision d'ordre médical

Vous devez tout d'abord demander une expertise médicale auprès de votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie.

Si vous contestez l'application faite par votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie des conclusions de l'expertise médicale, vous pourrez saisir la commission de recours amiable (CRA) de votre caisse d'Assurance Maladie, dans un délai de 2 mois à compter de la date de la notification de la décision que vous contestez.

Vous pourrez ensuite, éventuellement, engager une procédure auprès du tribunal des affaires de sécurité sociale (Tass), dans un délai de 2 mois à compter de la date de la notification de la commission de recours amiable. Le Tass compétent est, en principe, celui dont dépend votre domicile et il se trouve au siège du tribunal de grande instance (TGI).Vous devez adresser votre demande par lettre recommandée au secrétaire du Tass dont l'adresse figure sur la notification de la décision de la commission de recours amiable (CRA) que vous contestez, ou la déposer à son secrétariat, dans un délai de 2 mois :

En dernier ressort, vous pourrez faire appel auprès de la cour d'appel et/ou vous pourvoir devant la Cour de cassation. Lorsque la décision du Tass est rendue en dernier ressort (c'est le cas pour les litiges portant sur un montant inférieur à 4 000 €), vous pouvez saisir la Cour de cassation dans un délai de 2 mois à compter de la date de notification du Tass.

Lorsque la décision du Tass est rendue en premier ressort (c'est le cas pour les litiges portant sur un montant supérieur à 4 000 € ou lorsque le montant est indéterminé), vous pouvez faire appel devant la chambre sociale de la cour d'appel, dans un délai d'1 mois à compter de la date de notification du Tass; puis, si l'arrêt de la cour d'appel ne vous satisfait pas, vous pourrez saisir la Cour de cassation, dans un délai de 2 mois à compter de la date de notification de la cour d'appel.

Sur le site du Ministère de la Justice, vous pouvez trouver les coordonnées des différents tribunaux à saisir en indiquant le nom de la ville dans laquelle se situe la caisse qui a refusé le formulaire S2.