Prescriptions written in another country: how are these recognized in France?

fr en
Legal framework :
Directive No. 2012/52/EU
Article 11 of Directive No. 2011/24/EU

A prescription for medication or medical devices written in another European Union or European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) member State must be recognized in France. The medications prescribed can be dispensed to you provided that they have market authorization and are available in France.

A prescription must include a minimum set of information, as indicated in the annex of directive 2012/52/EU.

The healthcare professional writing the prescription must be authorized to prescribe in his/her home country. You may get in touch with your National Contact Point for more information on the requirements applicable in your home country.

However, a prescription for medical care or medications may be refused if the persons authorized to dispense medical devices or medications in France believe that this is in the patient's best interest, or if they have legitimate, justified doubts as to the authenticity or intelligibility of the prescription, or as to the capacity of the healthcare professional who wrote the prescription.

Prescriptions établies à l'étranger : comment sont-elles reconnues en France ?

fr en

Une prescription de médicaments ou de dispositifs médicaux effectuée dans un autre Etat membre de l'Union européenne ou de l'Espace Economique Européen (Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège) doit être reconnue en France. Les médicaments prescrits pourront vous être délivrés à la condition que ceux-ci soient autorisés à la vente et disponibles en France.

La prescription doit comporter un nombre minimal d'informations, telles qu'elles figurent en annexe de la directive européenne 2012/52/UE.

Le professionnel de santé qui établit la prescription doit être habilité à prescrire dans son Etat d'origine. Pour plus d'informations sur les obligations applicables dans votre Etat d'origine, vous pouvez vous rapprocher du point de contact national.

Une prescription de soins médicaux ou de médicaments pourra, cependant, être refusée si les personnes habilitées à délivrer des dispositifs médicaux ou des médicaments en France estiment que l'intérêt du patient paraît l'exiger ou s'ils ont des doutes légitimes et justifiés quant à l'authenticité ou à l'intelligibilité de la prescription, ou à la qualité du professionnel de santé qui l'a établie.