What to do before you come to France, and follow-up care when you return to your home country

fr en

As the best way to ensure continuity and safety of care, you have the right to access your medical records. This means that the country in which you are insured must make sure that the health care provider in the country in which you have chosen to receive treatment has access to your medical file.

Accessing your medical records

Article 5, section d) of directive No. 2011/24

"The member State of affiliation shall ensure that (…) patients who seek to receive or do receive cross-border healthcare should have remote access to or have at least a copy of their medical records"

Your country's designated National Contact Point can instruct you on how to get a copy of your medical records.

Follow-up care when you return home

Article 5, § c) of directive No. 2011/24

" The member State of affiliation shall ensure that (...) where a patient has received cross-border healthcare and where medical follow-up proves necessary, the same medical follow-up is available as would have been if that healthcare had been provided on its territory."

This means that your home country must provide follow-up care of equal quality to the care you received in France.

Les démarches avant de venir en France et le suivi des soins à votre retour dans votre Etat d'origine

fr en

Afin d'assurer au mieux la continuité et la sécurité de votre traitement, vous bénéficiez d'un droit d'accès à votre dossier médical. Ainsi, c'est au pays dans lequel vous êtes affilié de veiller à ce que le prestataire de soins du pays choisi pour votre traitement ait accès à votre dossier médical.

Accéder à votre dossier médical

Article 5, § d) de la directive 2011/24

" L'Etat membre d'affiliation veille à ce que (…) les patients qui cherchent à bénéficier ou bénéficient de soins de santé transfrontaliers aient accès à distance à leur dossier médical ou disposent au moins d'une copie de celui-ci."

Le point de contact national désigné dans votre pays pourra utilement vous renseigner sur les démarches à effectuer pour obtenir une copie de votre dossier médical.

Le suivi médical à votre retour

Article 5, § c) de la directive 2011/24

" L'Etat membre d'affiliation veille à ce que (…) lorsqu'un patient a bénéficié de soins de santé transfrontaliers et qu'un suivi médical s'avère nécessaire, il puisse avoir accès au même suivi médical que celui dont il aurait bénéficié si les soins avaient été dispensés sur son territoire."

Votre Etat d'affiliation doit assurer une qualité égale de suivi médical à celle dont vous avez bénéficié en France où le traitement vous a été dispensé.