If you travel to Switzerland while pregnant

fr en

Important:

  • If you are a Swiss cross-border worker who has opted for membership in the French health insurance system, special provisions have been adopted to guarantee continuity of care in Switzerland under certain conditions.
  • Directive 2011/24/EU on patients' rights in cross-border healthcare, which incorporates EU Court of Justice legal precedent on the free circulation of services (including the Kholl and Decker rulings), is not applicable in this country. This means that standard (non-emergency) ambulatory care cannot be covered.

This section applies if you are pregnant and a member or the beneficiary of a member of the French health insurance system. If you travel to Switzerland, you may be eligible for coverage of any medical care related to your pregnancy, regardless of your circumstances (salaried or self-employed worker, unemployment benefits recipient, resident, pensioner, etc.)

However, your coverage will differ depending on the reasons for your travel to these countries: exclusively medical reasons or non-medical reasons.

 

I – Travel for exclusively medical reasons

Before you leave, you must apply for prior authorization of coverage  (S2 form).

The following types of care are subject to prior authorization:

If approved, you will receive a portable S2 certificate for coverage in the country you are visiting. If you pay all or part of your medical expenses upfront, you can apply to your local health insurance fund for a reimbursement when you return to France.

- The portable S2 certificate

Legal framework :

The portable S2 certificate, "Entitlement to scheduled treatment,"authorizes you to travel to another EU or EEA member state or to Switzerland to receive medical care. It means that your care will be covered as provided by local law and according to local rates. Indeed, you will receive the same care as members of the local social security system.

You will need to request this document from your French health insurance fund. Your application must specify the type of care you are planning to receive and list the medical reasons behind your request to receive care abroad, including a doctor's opinion if necessary.
You must apply for your authorization far enough in advance so that your local health insurance fund can process it before you leave.

Your authorization will not be granted automatically. Indeed, the following conditions apply:

In the member State you are visiting, you will need to show your S2 certificate either to one of the local health insurance fund or directly to your health care provider so that your care is covered locally pursuant to local law.

- Requesting reimbursement of your health expenses

If you paid upfront for scheduled care for which you had prior authorization, you can submit your paid invoices to your health insurance fund to request reimbursement.

The fund will examine your request for reimbursement. In particular, it will check whether prior authorization had been granted and whether the conditions for reimbursement provided by French law, such as the requirement for a prior agreement or a medical prescription, were met.

Legal framework :

Important: certain types of care or treatment may be subject to prior authorization from the French system (outside of the S2 procedure):

Before you leave, ask your health professional in France if prior authorization is required. If so, it is also required if the care is provided outside France.

Where applicable, the fund will reimburse you for your care based on Social Security rates in the country where the care was provided or, if you so request, based on French Social Security rates up to a maximum of actual expenses.

A supplement can be considered if the foreign rates are lower than the French rates for the same treatment: the French health insurance fund will issue a supplementary reimbursement, up to a maximum of your upfront expenses. For example, for a procedure billed 150 euros, if you were issued a 100-euro reimbursement in the foreign country and the French social security rate is 150 euros, you may receive a 50-euro supplement from your French fund.

II – Travel for another reason (non medical), during which you received necessary care

Legal framework :

As a member or beneficiary of a member of a French social security scheme, you are entitled to coverage of care which becomes medically necessary during a temporary stay in another European Union or European Economic Area country (e.g. during vacation, business trips, or foreign-language programs). This care is covered by your European Health Insurance Card (EHIC). The EHIC is proof of your entitlement to coverage under the French health care system. However, you may still need to pay for your care upfront.

The EHIC covers all care that becomes medically necessary during your stay: all unscheduled or emergency care, including hospital care, regardless of whether it is provided in a public or private facility in the country you are visiting.
If you paid for your care upfront, you will need to submit your paid invoices to your French health insurance fund. The fund will then consider your request for reimbursement as if the care had been received in France.

In particular, the fund will check whether the conditions for reimbursement provided by French law, such as the requirement for a medical prescription, were met.

Legal framework :

Important: certain types of care or treatment may be subject to prior authorization from the French system (outside of the S2 procedure):

Before you leave, ask your health professional in France if prior authorization is required. If so, it is also required if the care is provided outside France.

Where applicable, the fund will reimburse you for your care based on Social Security rates in the country where the care was provided or, if you agree, based on French Social Security rates up to a maximum of actual expenses. For example, if you pay 150 euros for a procedure and receive a 100-euro reimbursement in the country you are visiting while the French Social Security reimbursement rate is 150 euros, you can get an additional 50-euro reimbursement in France.

Vous partez en Suisse et vous êtes enceinte

fr en
Attention :

  • Si vous êtes travailleur frontalier suisse relevant de l'assurance maladie française dans le cadre du droit d'option, des dispositions particulières ont été adoptées vous permettre de bénéficier d'une continuité des soins en Suisse sous certaines conditions.
  • la directive 2011/24/UE relative aux droits des patients en matière de soins transfrontaliers qui intègre la jurisprudence de la Cour de Justice de l'Union Européenne en matière de libre circulation des services (notamment la jurisprudence Kohll et Decker), n'est pas applicable à ce pays. Il n'y a donc pas de prise en charge possible des soins ambulatoires courants (non urgents)

Vous êtes enceinte et assurée ou ayant droit d'un assuré du régime français. Si vous vous rendez en Suisse, vous êtes susceptible de bénéficier d'une prise en charge des soins liés à votre grossesse, et ce, quelle que soit votre situation (salariée ou non salariée, chômeuse indemnisée, résidente, pensionnée ...).

Il faut néanmoins distinguer les modalités de prise en charge en fonction des raisons qui motivent votre séjour dans ces pays : raisons exclusivement médicales ou raisons non médicales.

I - Séjour pour des raisons exclusivement médicales

Avant le départ, demander impérativement une autorisation de prise en charge (formulaire S2).

Les soins soumis à autorisation sont les suivants :

En cas d'accord, le document portable S2 vous sera délivré pour une prise en charge sur place. En cas d'avance de tout ou partie des frais, vous pourrez demander un remboursement à votre caisse d'assurance maladie à votre retour.

Le document portable S2

Textes de référence :

Le document portable S2 « Droit aux soins médicaux programmés » correspond à une autorisation de vous rendre sur le territoire d'un Etat membre de l'UE, de l'EEE ou de la Suisse pour vous faire soigner. Il vous permet de bénéficier de la prise en charge de vos soins conformément à la réglementation et à la tarification locale. Les prestations sont ainsi servies dans les mêmes conditions que celles prévues pour les assurés du régime local.

Il vous appartient de demander ce document à votre caisse française d'assurance maladie, en précisant la nature des soins envisagés et d'exposer, le cas échéant à l'appui d'avis médicaux, les raisons médicales qui motivent la demande de soins hors de France.

La demande d'autorisation doit être présentée suffisamment tôt afin de permettre à la caisse d'affiliation de répondre avant votre départ.

La délivrance de cette autorisation n'est pas systématique. Des conditions sont requises :

Vous devrez présenter le formulaire S2 dans l'Etat dans lequel vous vous rendez, soit à une des caisses locales d'assurance maladie, soit directement au prestataire de santé, afin d'obtenir la prise en charge de vos soins sur place selon la réglementation locale.

Demande de remboursement des frais de soins

Si vous avez effectué l'avance des frais sur place et si ces soins programmés ont été préalablement autorisés, vous pouvez demander à votre caisse d'assurance maladie, sur présentation des factures acquittées, le remboursement des frais de santé.

La caisse examine la demande de remboursement. Elle vérifie en particulier si les soins ont été préalablement autorisés et si les conditions prévues par la réglementation française en matière de remboursement sont satisfaites, comme par exemple l'exigence d'un accord préalable ou d'une prescription médicale.

Textes de référence :

  • art. L315-1 et L315-2 du code de la sécurité sociale
  • art. R 160-2 du code de la sécurité sociale

Attention : certains soins ou traitements peuvent néanmoins être soumis à la procédure française de l'accord préalable (hors procédure S2) :

Elle procède, s'il y a lieu, au remboursement des soins sur la base du tarif de la sécurité sociale du pays de soins ou, à votre demande, sur la base du tarif français de la sécurité sociale, dans la limite des frais engagés. Un complément est possible si ces tarifs sont inférieurs aux tarifs français pour le même traitement : la caisse française peut procéder à un remboursement complémentaire, dans la limite des dépenses que vous avez engagées. Par exemple, pour un soin facturé 150 euros, si vous avez obtenu un remboursement de 100 euros dans le pays de séjour et que le tarif français de la sécurité sociale est de 150 euros, vous pouvez obtenir un complément de 50 euros en France.

II - Séjour pour un autre motif (non médical) et vous avez reçu des soins médicalement nécessaires

Textes de référence :

En tant qu'assuré(e) d'un régime français ou ayant droit, vous bénéficiez de la prise en charge des soins médicalement nécessaires au cours d'un séjour temporaire dans un autre pays européen ou de l'espace Economique européen (à l'occasion de vacances, de séjours professionnels ou de séjours linguistiques par exemple). Ces soins sont couverts par votre carte européenne d'assurance maladie (CEAM). La CEAM permet d'attester de ses droits à l'assurance maladie française. Elle ne dispense pas toujours de l'avance des frais de soins.

Sont couverts par la CEAM les soins qui s'avèrent nécessaires sur le plan médical au cours du séjour : tous les soins inopinés ou urgents, y compris les soins hospitaliers, qu'ils aient été dispensés dans le secteur public ou privé de cet Etat.

Si vous avez effectué l'avance des frais, vous devez présenter à votre caisse française d'assurance maladie les factures acquittées. La caisse examine la demande de remboursement comme si les soins avaient été reçus en France.

La caisse vérifie en particulier que les conditions prévues par la réglementation française en matière de remboursement sont satisfaites, comme par exemple l'exigence d'un accord préalable ou d'une prescription médicale.

Attention ! certains soins ou traitements peuvent néanmoins être soumis à la procédure française de l'accord préalable (hors procédure S2) :

Avant votre départ, assurez-vous auprès du professionnel de santé en France afin de savoir si l'autorisation est requise. Elle s'impose également si les soins ne sont pas effectués sur le territoire français.

Elle procède ensuite, s'il y a lieu, au remboursement sur la base des tarifs de sécurité sociale applicables dans l'Etat de séjour ou selon les tarifs de sécurité sociale applicables en France, en cas d'accord de l'assuré. Par exemple, pour un soin facturé 150 euros, si vous avez obtenu un remboursement de 100 euros dans le pays de séjour et que le tarif français de la sécurité sociale est de 150 euros, vous pouvez obtenir un complément de 50 euros en France.